Who we are

By mobilizing a critical mass of like-minded individuals, Safe Food Canada aims to affect positive change in the food protection continuum as we know it.

 Our Board of Directors

Safe Food Canada is a public-private partnership, with voices from the industry, government, and academia on its Board of Directors. Currently, our Board is made up of eleven (11) directing members and two (2) observers:

Jamie Curran – (Observer) Government of Alberta
Assistant Deputy Minister, Food Safety and Technology Sector

Ms. Katherine Di Tommaso – Walmart Canada
Director, Food Safety & Quality Control

Dr. Sylvain Fournaise – Olymel s.e.c./l.p.
Vice-President, Food Safety and Technical Services

Dr. Douglas Freeman – University of Saskatchewan
Dean at Western College of Veterinary Medicine

Dave Harlan – Cargill
Director Food Safety Risk Management

Ms. Lone Jespersen – (Observer) Cultivate

Dr. Gisèle Lapointe – University of Guelph
Dairy Farmers of Ontario Professorship in Dairy Microbiology, Department of Food Science

Ms. Spir Marinakis – Maple Leaf Foods
Director, Quality Systems

Mr. Paul Mayers – (Observer) Canadian Food Inspection Agency
Vice President, Policy and Programs

Mr. Barry Mehr – (Board Chair) Alberta Innovates Technology Futures
VP, Food and Agriculture

Ms. Sarah Nisker – Loblaw Companies Limited
Vice President, Food Safety, Quality Assurance and Regulatory Affairs

Dr. H.J. (Tom) Thompson – (Chair, Governance Committee) Olds College

Dr. Michael Trevan – University of Manitoba
Head and Professor, Department of Food Science